<< back The church of Rindschleiden  

The church of Rindschleiden, with its frescoes from the 15th and 16th century, which are extended over 170 m2, has been built up in the 10th century and dedicated to Saint Willibrord in the 16th century.

In the Municipality of Wahl, hidden in a valley in the form of a basin, lies the smallest village of the country, which puts up however one of the most beautiful and oldest churches of the country: Rindschleiden. In the opposite is a modest school, which today is used as pub MIRO.

The church has been built in the 10th century in honour of every Saints. Only in the 16th century it has been dedicated to Saint Willibrord. In the beginning it was just a chapel from 5 to 10 meters, which has been extended for several times from the 16th century, so that you discover today different stiles in the building. During the last restoration, the floor has been arranged in such a way that you can see the fundaments of the old chapel. Between the nave and the choir, a grate bas been inserted in the floor, so that one can look at the remnants of the historical foundations of these walls. The frescoes from the 1st half of the 15th century, which amount to a surface of 170 m2, impress the visitor.

This photo shows the different stages of the church development (Steeple-extension: 2nd gothic period, in white- enlargement of the choir: 1st gothic period, in stone- finally the vestry: in white) - photo: Antoinette Ney-Schuler
(photos: David Flammang)

The frescoes

They have been discovered, exposed and restored only in 1952. Even if most of the frescoes are damaged, it is possible to identify them and to determine most of the scenes. These frescoes certainly not just serve to the iconographic decoration, but permit also everybody, above all the illiterates, to understand the important biblical scenes. The church is classified as a national monument.

Copy of the font from the 15th century, whose original is inside the church. At the right, the St.Willibrord-source, at the left. the font - (photos: David Flammang)

St.Willibrord-source

It seems that before 1437 the rectory depended on Echternach and that it was even a construction of Echternach. The tradition attributes to Saint Willibrord a lot of sources, which he got out from the ground with the help of his wand. The source Saint Willibrord of Rindschleiden has been mentioned even before 1590. It has been restored some years ago. The stony font, which has been discovered and exposed here, gives the grounds an impressive atmosphere. On Whitsunday, the 4 rectories of Wahl, Buschrodt, Arsdorf and Rambrouch go on a pilgrimage to the source Saint Willibrord to honour the relic, a piece of silicium, of Saint Willibrord. By this occasion, the mass is celebrated open-air.

old gravestones The entrance for the church has been built in the 12th century (2nd romance period)

The church is opened every day from 9.00 am to 18.00 p.m. In winter, it is already closed at nightfall (at 17.00 p.m.)

Contact fir guided visits (in german or luxemburgish)
Jean Ferber:
Mail: jean.ferber@education.lu
Tel: 691 838 644

<< back

<< retour L'église de Rindschleiden  

L'église de Rindschleiden avec ses fresques du 15e et 16e siècle, qui se concentrent sur plus de 170 m2, a été bâtie au 10e siècle et au 16e siècle, où elle a été consacrée à Saint Willibrord.

C'est dans la commune de Wahl et cachée dans une vallée encaissée, que se trouve la plus petite localité du pays, qui possède pourtant une des plus belles et des plus vieilles églises: Rindschleiden. En face de l'église, on peut voir la modeste école, abritant aujourd'hui le Café MIRO.

L'église a été construite au 10e siècle en l'honneur de tous les saints. Ce n'est qu'au 16ème siècle qu'elle fut consacrée à St Willibrord. Au départ ce n'était qu'une chapelle de 5 x 10 mètres, qui à partir de 1535 fut agrandie à plusieurs reprises, de sorte qu'on peut y reconnaître différents styles. Lors de la dernière restauration, le plancher a été arrangé de manière à ce qu'on puisse voir les fondations de l'ancienne chapelle. Entre la nef et le chœur, une grille enfoncée dans le sol permet de jeter un regard sur les restes de ces murs de fondation historiques. Le regard est attiré par les fresques de la première moitié du 15ème siècle qui ont une superficie de 170 m2.

Cette photo permet de voir les différentes étapes de l'évolution de l'église (tour - élargissement: 2e période gothique, en blanc - agrandissement du choeur: 1ère période gothique, en pierres - enfin la sacristie:en blanc) - photo: Antoinette Ney-Schuler
(photos: David Flammang)

Les fresques

Ce n'est qu'en 1952 qu'elles ont été redécouvertes, dégagées et restaurées. Bien que plusieurs fresques soient très abîmées, il est encore possible de reconnaître ou de deviner la plupart des scènes. Ces fresques ne servaient certainement pas seulement de décoration iconographique, mais devaient permettre à tous, surtout aux analphabètes, de comprendre les scènes bibliques importantes. L'église est classée monument national.

Réplique du baptistère du 15e S dont l'original se trouve à l'intérieur de l'église A droite, la source St.Willibrord (captée) , à gauche, le baptistère - (photos: David Flammang)

Source St.Willibrord

Il semble qu'avant 1437, la cure dépendait d'Echternach, il semble même qu'il s'agisse d'une création echternachoise. La tradition attribue à St Willibrord un grand nombre de sources qu'il aurait fait surgir du sol à l'aide de son bâton miraculeux. La source St Willibrord de Rindschleiden est déjà mentionnée en 1590. Elle a été restaurée, il y a quelques années. Les fonds baptismaux en pierre que l'on a retrouvés et exposés ici donnent au site une atmosphère très impressionnante. Le dimanche de Pentecôte, les 5 cures de Arsdorf, Buschrodt, Rambrouch, Rindschleiden et Wahl se rendent chaque année à la source St Willibrord pour honorer la relique de St Willibrord, un morceau de silicium. A cette occasion, on célèbre un office religieux en plein air.

Anciennes pierres tombales La tour d'entrée de l'église construite au 12e S (2e période romane)

L'église est ouverte tous les jours de 9 à 18 heures. Mais en hiver, elle est fermée à la tombée de la nuit (vers 17h).

Responsable visites guidées (langue luxembourgeoise et allemande)
Jean Ferber:
Mail: jean.ferber@education.lu
Tel: 691 838 644

<< retour